Yes, I did remember that thread about VDM, but didn't realize that
Lambert was in kahoots with them. Thanks for the information!
-Meghan
Quoting Thomas Dowling <[log in to unmask]>:
> They appear to be affiliated with (aka "in kahoots with"?) a publisher
> called VDM, the subject of an ETD-L thread back in early 2009. See the
> "Academic Publication" thread at:
>
> http://listserv.vt.edu/cgi-bin/wa?A1=ind0902&L=etd-l
>
> And John Hagen's information about this publisher at:
>
> http://www.libraries.wvu.edu/theses/web.htm#V
>
>
> I think the consensus is they're not a scam, and they're not a vanity
> press, but their recruitment methods are spam-like and it's certain that
> publishing with them does much to enhance an author's academic "street cred."
>
>
> Thomas Dowling
> [log in to unmask]
>
>
> On 05/07/2010 10:18 AM, Meghan Banach wrote:
>> Hello,
>>
>> Does anyone know anything about a publisher called Lambert Academic
>> Publishing from Germany?
>>
>> http://www.lap-publishing.com/
>>
>> Apparently, they are contacting grad students saying they want to
>> publish their theses and dissertations. Does anyone know if they are
>> legit or not? Do anyone know anything about them?
>>
>> I need to advise one of grad students who was solicited by them. It
>> looks like they are selling the theses and dissertations through Amazon
>> and other large online book selling sites.
>>
>> Thanks,
>> Meghan
>>
>> ******************************************
>> Meghan Banach
>> Metadata Catalog Librarian
>> Information Resources Management Department/W.E.B. Du Bois Library
>> University of Massachusetts
>> 154 Hicks Way
>> Amherst, MA 01003
>> Telephone (413) 545-6846
>> Fax (413) 545-6494
>> E-mail [log in to unmask]
>
>
>
******************************************
Meghan Banach
Metadata Catalog Librarian
Information Resources Management Department/W.E.B. Du Bois Library
University of Massachusetts
154 Hicks Way
Amherst, MA 01003
Telephone (413) 545-6846
Fax (413) 545-6494
E-mail [log in to unmask]
|